Storytime for Grownups – Five Questions with Don Vasicek

Books can be an escape, but they can also be a way to sneak in history and culture, while making things seem fun.

We’ve partnered with Waldorf Publishing to bring you a little insight into some of their authors, and their creative process. The latest of these Five Questions segments highlights author Don Vasicek.

1What would you say was the inspiration for writing your book/s.

My childhood. Growing up in a small town in Nebraska was a sheer delight. I wanted to share that in a book that would make kids laugh and also hide under the covers with chills. Another book I wrote and published was inspired by my grandkids. I wanted them to learn about our family history. Yet, another book I wrote, “The Eyes of Death”, is a novel about a girl who is confronted with being unable to save people from dying. This book was inspired by the pandemic.

Do you have a relative that is also an Author?

Yes. My brother, Al, an English professor, wrote  a memoir for a man he knew. He is writing his autobiography now..

Do you see yourself writing more books in the future?

Writing books is a challenge. It is hard work. One has to write about topics/subjects about which they are passionate. Passion fuels the brain and the heart. Together, it makes writing fun. My fascination with love has triggered me to write a book about the tragedy of love. I am presently writing it.

Do you have a website?

I have two websites. One, http://www.donvasicek.com,  is a writing site for clients and potential clients. Many articles on writing that I have written are posted on the site. The other web site,  http://www.sandcreekmassacre.net, is a web site about the Sand Creek Massacre as told by the Cheyenne and Arapaho people on film. This film is graphic. It is informational and educational and expands the under-standing of racism. The film won the prestigious Golden Drover Award, best film in three film festivals, is archived in the Smithsonian, and also in 284 libraries across the country. It has been screened in every major city in the country including elementary schools, middle schools, high schools, colleges and universities throughout the United States. It is being distributed by Films Media Group.

During this pandemic, how do you stay positive?

From the first week in March when I first learned that I should stay inside because of the pandemic, I have felt optimistic about the entire experience. Although it is tragic, to say the least, my optimism is based on how I can make myself healthier. I’ve bulked up more by lifting heavier weights with more reps, doing more cardio work on the elliptical machine, the rowing machine, walking and the treadmill, increasing my stretching exercises, and balancing my diet with healthier foods. I have also been able to do more writing. I was able to finish writing my autobiography which took about two years to write. I have started writing another novel. I’ve also been able to open up dialogue between classmates, friends and family I have not communicated with for a long time. The downside of this pandemic is my sorrow over  those who have suffered and are suffering from COVID-19. I wish I could do more to help them out. I have been blessed to be able to gear down, to let a lot of busy activities go that were hindering my personal, social and professional growth. So, I am very grateful for that.

For more information about this and other books by Waldorf Publishing, visit their Facebook page.

One thought on “Storytime for Grownups – Five Questions with Don Vasicek

Leave a comment